Museum of Texas Tech University Association

Check back with us.

Our full website launches soon, featuring all participating Artists' Bios and examples of their works.

Artist Application &
Resources Download

Click to Download the
Artist Docs

2020 art sale and exhibition

Art on the Llano Estacado

Past Events


Legacy Award Winner Photo

Legacy Award Winner

James C. Watkins is a ceramic artist who has been working professionally with clay for over 30 years.  His work is included in the White House Collection of American Crafts and the Shigaraki Institute of Ceramic Studies in Shigaraki, Japan.  Mr. Watkins is a Paul Whitfield Horn Professor, the highest honor that Texas Tech University bestows on members of its faculty. Horn Professorships are granted to professors in recognition of national and international distinction for outstanding research or other creative scholarly achievements. Mr. Watkins teaches Architectural Ceramics and Architectural Drawing in the College of Architecture and has received the TTU President’s Excellence in Teaching Award.  He is a 2005 Fulbright Scholar, teaching in Vietnam at the Ho Chi Minh City University of Architecture.  He is the co-author of two books, “Alternative Kilns & Firing Techniques” published by Lark Books and “Architectural Delineation, Presentation Techniques and Projects published by Kendall/Hunt Publishing Company.  His work is also the subject of a book entitled “A Meditation of Fire the Art of James C. Watkins by Kippra D. Hopper published by Texas Tech University Press. He received his B.F.A. from the Kansas City Art Institute and his M.F.A. from Indiana University. 

Participating Artists

Toni Arnett

Sylvia Benitez

Steve Brewster

Ruth Ellen Bryant

Duward Campbell

Jim Clements

Kathleen Cook

Darrell Davis

Jim Eppler

Glenna Goodacre

Sandy Graves

David Griffin

Bob Guelich

John Austin Hanna

Wendy Higgins

Carol Howell

Rick Jackson

James W Johnson

Eleanor Kreneck

Lynwood Kreneck

Kim Mackey

Hilton McLaurin

Susan Nall

Erika Pochybova

Richard Prather

Betsy Ranck

Cynde Roof

Rosie Sandifer

Stefan Savides

Ted Schaal

Jason Scull

Kay Smith

Pati Stajcar

Bo Tan

Kandy Tate

Richard Thompson

Risa Waldt

James C. Watkins

Gale Webb

Garland Weeks

HC Zachry